In efforts to build a connected and coordinated public health care system in Ontario, 14 LHINs (Local Health Integration Networks) have been restructured into 5 interim geographical regions for transition of certain LHIN functions and oversight responsibilities into Ontario Health. These five interim and transitional geographical regions are based on existing geographic boundaries as set out in the current LHIN’s governing legislation.

Under the operational realignment, Ontario has also reduced the LHIN CEO positions from 14 to five. To better reflect the changes, these positions will now be called Transitional Regional Leads. In accordance with the vision for a truly connected health care system, these transitional leads will report to the Ontario Health Board which will remain the Board for the realigned LHINs. All current functions of the LHINs including continued coordination of patient access to home and community care and long-term care placement will be managed by the reorganized LHINs.

The interim regional clustering of LHINs are as follows:

Region Transitional Regional Leads Clustering of LHIN Corporations
West Bruce Lauckner Erie-St. Clair, South West, Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant, Waterloo Wellington
Central Scott McLeod Mississauga Halton, Central West, Central, North Simcoe Muskoka
Toronto Tess Romain Toronto Central
East Renato Discenza Central East, South East, Champlain
North Rhonda Crocker Ellacott North West, North East

According to the Ministry of Health, this reorganization of LHINs is operationally necessary to establish regional oversight between existing LHINs. As per the transition plan, certain functions of the LHINs will eventually move to Ontario Health, however, other functions such as delivering home and community care and long-term care placement services will remain under current LHINs jurisdiction.